MS Student Clubs

Lake Placid Middle School Extracurricular Activities
2016-17

***All activities are open to 6th, 7th and 8th graders, unless otherwise noted. ***

Science Olympiad
Meets Thursdays 10th period in Mr. Brunner’s room. Additional times for practices depending on the event and time of year. Any middle school student who is interested should come to Mr. Brunner’s room Thursdays 10th period. New students are welcome throughout the year.
Contact: Mr. Frank Brunner, fbrunner@lpcsd.org

Yearbook Club
Interested students should contact Mrs. Gosling in the Guidance Office.
Contact: Mrs. Lynn Gosling, lgosling@lpcsd.org

Middle School Play
The Middle School play will take place in the winter/spring. Tech and acting positions are available.
Contact: Mr. Brenden Gotham, bgotham@lpcsd.org

Builder’s Club
This is a community service and leadership based club. Students participate in the following activities: helping at the animal shelter, concession stands, the LP Classic and 10k, the Teddy Bear Parade and Picnic, the Village Stroll & Plunge For A Cause to name a few.
Contact: Mrs. Patti McConvey, pmcconvey@lpcsd.org

Student Council
Representatives from each grade will work together to increase school spirit and improve school climate. The group will meet once a month during lunch.
Contact: Mrs. Lynn Gosling, lgosling@lpcsd.org

6th Grade Cross Country Ski Club
During the winter months, Mrs. Moruzzi takes interested students cross-country skiing at Cascade Cross Country Ski Center.
Contact: Mrs. Thea Moruzzi, tmoruzzi@lpcsd.org

6th Grade Golfing Club
This will start around the middle of May, depending on the weather. After 10th period, we will walk over to the Lake Placid Club. We try to get out twice a week. All six graders are welcome to play whether it is the first time they have golfed or if they are ready for the PGA.
Contact: Mrs. Laurel Riehs, lriehs@lpcsd.org

Lake Placid Blue Bomber Sports for Grades 7 and 8

  • Fall – modified boys & girls soccer; boys & girls cross country; girls volleyball
  • Winter – modified boys & girls basketball, nordic skiing, & alpine skiing
  • Spring – modified boys & girls track & field; boys baseball; girls softball; & girls & boys
    lacrosse (merged with SL)

Contact: Mrs. Donna Moody, dmoody@lpcsd.org

Middle School Art Club
This is a place for students to extend their art experience beyond the classroom. We will do individual and group projects. Some of the projects will be displayed in the school and in the community. Art Club meets 10th period on Tuesdays.
Contact: Mrs. Sandy Huber, shuber@lpcsd.org

Environmental Club
Meetings are held every Thursday in Mrs. Morgan’s room. Students are welcome to help us develop climate action plans for our school and work on lots of projects like recycling, school gardening and energy efficiency.
Contact: Mrs. Tammy Morgan, tmorgan@lpcsd.org

LPCC- Lake Placid Connections for Change
Middle and High School students working together to build a positive environment throughout our school. We do activities and decorate our hallways throughout the school
Run by: Kristin Hutchins, Michael Bringley, and Jodi McKinnon

Middle School Book Club
This club is students that love to read. In this club, we meet the first Monday of each month, where we talk about a book we’ve all chosen to read together as a group.
Contact: Ms Kristin Hutchins, ktice@lpcsd.org

Compiled by L. Gosling, September 2016 – Updated: October 2018

© Lake Placid Central School District. All rights reserved. Site Managed in partnership with Champlain Valley Educational Services.